Welcome to the D’Youville Library! This short guide will help get you started with your research. It includes research support services and resources to help you complete any level research project.
The library has thousands of books and access to millions of articles through its large collection of databases. There are dozens of databases to choose from, so it can be quite confusing to start. Getting to know the library research resources will help you get the best results, so it is helpful to take some time to learn how to navigate our system.
You can borrow materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. All you need is your school id. Most books can be checked out for a month, while DVDs are due back in a week. Don’t worry if you can’t bring the item back on time, we don’t charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned).
Our Research Librarians help you find information. No appointment is necessary. Just visit the library service desk during business hours. We can show you how to best use Internet and library resources to find high quality information for your academic projects. Don’t have time to stop in? We can also assist you by phone, email or zoom.
Can’t find something you need in our library? No problem! Our Interlibrary Loan service can requests things from other libraries across North America. This service is free of charge – so don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!
Explore our large collection of digital and physical resources using the D’YouSearch discovery tool. This simple to use, multidisciplinary search tool is the best starting place for your research. Whether you are looking for books in the building or full text articles from our vast electronic collection, D’YouSearch can help you find it fast.
Those with a specific database in mind will want to visit our A to Z directory. Browse databases by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search The filters narrow down your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.
We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials includes tips to help you become a better researcher.
This blog includes posts on database selection and search techniques. The articles not only cover how to search, but they help you understand where and why you might use a particular resource. Learn how to use our resources for specific classes, assignments and find solutions to common research problems that students encounter. We also highlight books, ebooks, databases and other helpful or new resources here.
Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.
Keep connected and informed about library services and resources:
Follow us on Twitter @dyclibrary for updates on new resources, services and tutorials.
Bookmark our web page. It contains links and information for all of our resources.
Contact us today with any questions.