D'Youville Library Dispatch - LibGuides at D'Youville University

No need to get dressed up and go door to door for candy this Halloween. We have some terrifying treats for you that you can enjoy from the comfort of your couch.

These are just a few of the frightful features from our Kanopy streaming collection. We have included a mix of movies - some new, some classic and some international features.

Have a great Halloween season and enjoy these free movies!

The Vourdalak

In this drama-horror film, set in 18th-century Eastern Europe, Marquis Jacques Antoine Saturnin d’Urfé (Kacey Mottet Klein), an emissary of the King of France, seeks refuge at an isolated manor after being attacked and abandoned. The family reluctantly takes him in, exhibiting strange behavior as they await the return of their father, Gorcha. Based on Aleksey Konstantinovich Tolstoy’s novella “The Family of the Vourdalak,” the film, directed by Adrien Beau, delves into a chilling tale of suspense and supernatural terror.

Talk To Me

When a group of friends discover how to conjure spirits using an embalmed hand, they become hooked on the new thrill, until one of them goes too far and unleashes terrifying supernatural forces.

Evil Dead 2

A masterclass in horror-comedy, EVIL DEAD II blends relentless terror with dark, twisted humor. Directed by Sam Raimi, this cult classic throws you into a whirlwind of over-the-top gore, demonic possession, and Bruce Campbell’s unforgettable performance as the chainsaw-wielding Ash. It’s a nonstop thrill ride packed with inventive camera work, striking practical effects, and a story that is as hilarious as it is horrifying.

Train to Busan

A man (Gong Yoo), his estranged daughter and other passengers become trapped on a speeding train during a zombie outbreak in South Korea.

The Wretched

Following his parents’ separation, a rebellious teenage boy, Ben, is sent to live with his father for the summer. Ben’s problems grow increasingly disturbing when he makes a chilling discovery about the family renting the house next door. A malevolent spirit from the woods has taken ahold of the parents and starts playing a sinister game of house, preying upon the children and wiping away any trace of their existence.

More spooky video selections can be found at:

https://www.kanopy.com/en/dyc/category/60744

Also take a look at our Halloween book selections for those in the mood for some sinister reading.

Recent Posts

Be afraid, be very afraid - with these morbid movies this Halloween!

No need to get dressed up and go door to door for candy this Halloween. We have some terrifying treats for you that you can enjoy from the comfort of your couch. These are just a few of the frightful features from our Kanopy streaming collection. We have included a mix of movies - some new, some classic and some international features. Have a great Halloween season and enjoy these free movies! The VourdalakIn this drama-horror film, set in 18th-century Eastern Europe, Marquis Jacques Antoine Saturnin d’Urfé (Kacey Mottet Klein), an emissary of the King of France, seeks refuge at an isolated manor after being attacked and abandoned. The family reluctantly takes him in, exhibiting strange behavior as they await the return of their father, Gorcha. Based on Aleksey Konstantinovich Tolstoy’s novella “The Family of the Vourdalak,” the film, directed by Adrien Beau, delves into a chilling tale of suspense and supernatural terror. Talk To MeWhen a group of friends discover how to conjure spirits using an embalmed hand, they become hooked on the new thrill, until one of them goes too far and unleashes terrifying supernatural forces. Evil Dead 2A masterclass in horror-comedy, EVIL DEAD II blends relentless terror with dark, twisted humor. Directed by Sam Raimi, this cult classic throws you into a whirlwind of over-the-top gore, demonic possession, and Bruce Campbell’s unforgettable performance as the chainsaw-wielding Ash. It’s a nonstop thrill ride packed with inventive camera work, striking practical effects, and a story that is as hilarious as it is horrifying. Train to BusanA man (Gong Yoo), his estranged daughter and other passengers become trapped on a speeding train during a zombie outbreak in South Korea. The WretchedFollowing his parents’ separation, a rebellious teenage boy, Ben, is sent to live with his father for the summer. Ben’s problems grow increasingly disturbing when he makes a chilling discovery about the family renting the house next door. A malevolent spirit from the woods has taken ahold of the parents and starts playing a sinister game of house, preying upon the children and wiping away any trace of their existence. More spooky video selections can be found at:https://www.kanopy.com/en/dyc/category/60744 Also take a look at our Halloween book selections for those in the mood for some sinister reading. ...

Some frightening tales to make you feel a little better!

Mutant rats, possessed children, killer automobiles and psycho slashers are just a few of the treats we have selected for your reading pleasure this Halloween. This short list is a nice appetizer to the sinister season. We have many more options from which to choose. Scary stories are not just Halloween fun, but they can also help you cope with stress according to researchers. Reading horror stories can help us learn about potential threats and experience harrowing situations without having to face the problem s ourselves. So come visit us for some frightening, yet relaxing and refreshing stories. You can check out these titles and several other from our Halloween displays. Our collection includes books, e-books, audiobooks and video - giving you a variety of options to feel the fear. Books Night Shift by Stephen KingISBN: 9780307947291Publication Date: 2012-08-07A collection of bone-chilling, nail-biting tales from the undisputed master of horror that showcases the darkest depths of his brilliant imagination and will "chill the cockles of many a heart" (Chicago Tribune).. INCLUDES THE STORY"THE BOOGEYMAN"- NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM 20th CENTURY STUDIOS Originally published in 1978, Night Shift is the inspiration for over a dozen acclaimed horror movies and television series, including Children of the Corn, Chapelwaite, and Lawnmower Man. Night Shift is Stephen King's first collection of short stories--a perfect showcase of just how far King's dark imagination can go. Here we see mutated rats gone bad ("Graveyard Shift"); a cataclysmic virus that threatens humanity ("Night Surf," the basis for The Stand); a possessed, evil lawnmower ("The Lawnmower Man"); unsettling children from the heartland ("Children of the Corn"); a smoker who will try anything to stop ("Quitters, Inc."); a reclusive alcoholic who begins a gruesome transformation ("Gray Matter"); and many more. This is Stephen King at his horrifying best. Poe's Children by Peter StraubISBN: 9780385522830Publication Date: 2008-10-14From the incomparable master of horror and suspense comes an electrifying collection of contemporary literary horror, with stories from twenty-five writers representing today’s most talented voices in the genre. Horror writing is usually associated with formulaic gore, but New Wave horror writers have more in common with the wildly inventive, evocative spookiness of Edgar Allan Poe than with the sometimes-predictable hallmarks of their peers. Showcasing this cutting-edge talent,Poe’s Children now brings the best of the genre’s stories to a wider audience. Featuring tales from such writers as Neil Gaiman and Jonathan Carroll,Poe’s Children is Peter Straub’s tribute to the imaginative power of storytelling. Each previously published story has been selected by Straub to represent what he thinks is the most interesting development in our literature during the last two decades. Selections range from the early Stephen King psychological thriller “The Ballad of the Flexible Bullet,” in which an editor confronts an author’s belief that his typewriter is inhabited by supernatural creatures, to “The Man on the Ceiling,” Melanie and Steve Rasnic Tem’s award-winning surreal tale of night terrors, woven with daylight fears that haunt a family. Other selections include National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon’s “The Bees”; Peter Straub’s “Little Red’s Tango,” the legend of a music aficionado whose past is as mysterious as the ghostly visitors to his Manhattan apartment; Elizabeth Hand’s visionary and shocking “Cleopatra Brimstone”; Thomas Ligotti’s brilliant, mind-stretching “Notes on the Writing of Horror: A Story”; and “Body,” Brian Evenson’s disturbing twist on correctional facilities. Crossing boundaries and packed with imaginative chills,Poe’s Children bears all the telltale signs of fearless, addictive fiction. Final Girls by Mira Grant; Julie Dillon (Illustrator)ISBN: 9781596068230Publication Date: 2017-04-30hat if you could fix the worst parts of yourself by confronting your worst fears?Dr. Jennifer Webb has invented proprietary virtual reality technology that purports to heal psychological wounds by running clients through scenarios straight out of horror movies and nightmares. In a carefully controlled environment, with a medical cocktail running through their veins, sisters might develop a bond they've been missing their whole lives while running from the bogeyman through a simulated forest. But]]can real change come so easily?Esther Hoffman doubts it. Esther has spent her entire journalism career debunking pseudoscience, after phony regression therapy ruined her father's life. She's determined to unearth the truth about Dr. Webb's budding company. Dr. Webb's willing to let her, of course, for reasons of her own. What better advertisement could she get than that of a convinced skeptic? But Esther's not the only one curious about how this technology works. Enter real-world threats just as frightening as those created in the lab. Dr. Webb and Esther are at odds, but they may also be each other's only hope of survival.With her new novella Final Girls, bestselling, award-winning author Mira Grant has conjured a heart stopping, gut-wrenching story filled with as many twists as it is versions of reality. Grant offers a chilling exploration of how surviving horrors might define us all. My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham JonesISBN: 9781982137632Publication Date: 2021-08-31Winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel Named a Best Book of 2021 by NPR In her quickly gentrifying rural lake town Jade sees recent events only her encyclopedic knowledge of horror films could have prepared her for in this latest novel from the Jordan Peele of horror literature, New York Times bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones. "Some girls just don't know how to die..." Shirley Jackson meets Friday the 13th in My Heart Is a Chainsaw, written by the author of The Only Good Indians Stephen Graham Jones, called "a literary master" by National Book Award winner Tananarive Due and "one of our most talented living writers" by Tommy Orange. Alma Katsu calls My Heart Is a Chainsaw "a homage to slasher films that also manages to defy and transcend genre." On the surface is a story of murder in small-town America. But beneath is its beating heart: a biting critique of American colonialism, Indigenous displacement, and gentrification, and a heartbreaking portrait of a broken young girl who uses horror movies to cope with the horror of her own life. Jade Daniels is an angry, half-Indian outcast with an abusive father, an absent mother, and an entire town that wants nothing to do with her. She lives in her own world, a world in which protection comes from an unusual source: horror movies...especially the ones where a masked killer seeks revenge on a world that wronged them. And Jade narrates the quirky history of Proofrock as if it is one of those movies. But when blood actually starts to spill into the waters of Indian Lake, she pulls us into her dizzying, encyclopedic mind of blood and masked murderers, and predicts exactly how the plot will unfold. Yet, even as Jade drags us into her dark fever dream, a surprising and intimate portrait emerges...a portrait of the scared and traumatized little girl beneath the Jason Voorhees mask: angry, yes, but also a girl who easily cries, fiercely loves, and desperately wants a home. A girl whose feelings are too big for her body. My Heart Is a Chainsaw is her story, her homage to horror and revenge and triumph. Scowler by Daniel KrausISBN: 9780385743099Publication Date: 2013-03-12Equal parts haunting and horrifying, this literary horror novel gives readers insight into the mind of a controlling homicidal man and the son who must stop him. "Marvin Burke is one of the great monsters of literature, a figure of immense, credible terror and savagery."--Cory Doctorow, author of Little Children and coeditor of Boing Boing Imagine your father is a monster. Would that mean there are monsters inside you, too? Nineteen-year-old Ry Burke, his mother, and little sister eke out a living on their dying family farm. Ry wishes for anything to distract him from the grim memories of his father's physical and emotional abuse. Then a meteorite falls from the sky, bringing with it not only a fragment from another world but also the arrival of a ruthless man intent on destroying the entire family. Soon Ry is forced to defend himself by resurrecting a trio of imaginary childhood protectors: kindly Mr. Furrington, wise Jesus, and the bloodthirsty Scowler. The Book of Accidents by Chuck WendigISBN: 9780399182136Publication Date: 2021-07-20NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A family returns to their hometown--and to the dark past that haunts them still--in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times bestselling author of Wanderers LOCUS AWARD FINALIST * "The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns--I haven't felt all this so intensely since The Shining."--Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Good Indians ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Public Library, Library Journal Long ago, Nathan lived in a house in the country with his abusive father--and has never told his family what happened there. Long ago, Maddie was a little girl making dolls in her bedroom when she saw something she shouldn't have--and is trying to remember that lost trauma by making haunting sculptures. Long ago, something sinister, something hungry, walked in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of their hometown in rural Pennsylvania. Now, Nate and Maddie Graves are married, and they have moved back to their hometown with their son, Oliver. And now what happened long ago is happening again . . . and it is happening to Oliver. He meets a strange boy who becomes his best friend, a boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic. This dark magic puts them at the heart of a battle of good versus evil and a fight for the soul of the family--and perhaps for all of the world. But the Graves family has a secret weapon in this battle: their love for one another. Symbiont by Mira GrantISBN: 9780316218993Publication Date: 2014-11-25From New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant comes the second book in the terrifying Parasitology series. The SymboGen-designed tapeworms were created to relieve humanity of disease and sickness. But the implants in the majority of the world's population began attacking their hosts, turning them into a ravenous horde. Now those who do not appear to be afflicted are being gathered for quarantine as panic spreads, but Sal and her companions must discover how the tapeworms are taking over their hosts, what their eventual goal is, and how they can be stopped. "A riveting near-future medical thriller that reads like the genetically-engineered love child of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton." --John Joseph Adams on Parasite More from Mira Grant: Parasitology Parasite Symbiont Chimera Newsflesh Feed Deadline Blackout Feedback Rise ...

D'Youville Library quick start guide to research

D’Youville students have a wealth of scholarly information resources to choose from through the university library. This collection contains high quality academic resources to meet the needs of your coursework. Using the library resources may not be intuitive at first. This guide will help you get started. The library is more than just books. We have a wide range of electronic resources to check to find full text journal articles, ebooks, streaming videos and more. Digital Resources Most research can be done without having to enter the library. We provide electronic access to thousands of journals, newspapers, magazine, streaming videos and more through our collection of library databases. There are dozens to chose from and they cover a wide range of subjects and formats. The quickest way to explore our entire collection is by using the D’YouSearch discovery tool located near to top of the library homepage. D’YouSearch is simple to use - just enter some keywords and hit the search button. This tool searches across our collection of databases and can find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming video and many other formats. Those with more specific needs should visit the A to Z Database directory. Browse our database collection by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search. The filters narrow your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches. Specialized Tools The A to Z list also contains digital resources beyond finding articles and books. We have several specialized tools that can help with all types of things. Examples include a virtual anatomy lab, citation management software, video streaming service and several more. Research Guides and Tutorials We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials include tips to help you become a better researcher. Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources. Additional research help can be found on our Research Guides page. There are a range of topics in the guides that might be helpful for your research. These include general lists of library resources for nursing to more specific instruction on nursing theorists. These guides contain a number of research issues such as copyright, APA citation style help and using AI for your research. Services We also provide services that can help you find and obtain what you need. Individual research assistance is available to students via appointment. Research librarians will help you with your research questions and problems. We can teach you how to effectively use library databases, internet resources or AI to complete your research. Email us at library@dyc.edu with your questions or to schedule an appointment. The Interlibrary Loan service can obtain materials not in our collection from libraries around the country. This service is free of charge. Don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first! Spaces The library has individual study spaces throughout the building. It also has a several enclosed group study rooms on the fourth floor. The third floor is configured for some group study in open areas. There is a large computer lab on the first floor containing a combination of Mac and Windows based computers. There are network connected printers on each floor. You can borrow physical materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. Your D’Youville ID is all you need to check out books, DVDs, anatomy models and a variety of other resources. Most books can be checked out for six weeks. Don’t worry if you can’t bring the item back on time, we don’t charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned). You can also email us at library@dyc.edu and we will happily renew the material for you.This post should help you get started with most library related research projects. Please email the us at library@dyc.edu with any additional questions. Good luck with your research! ...

New graduate guide to library resources for staying informed, educated and entertained

Congratulations to our new graduates this spring. As you embark on the next chapter of your life, the library would like to let you know that we are here for you. Although the library continues to serve you as an alumni of the university, there are some materials that are no longer available to you. Many of our online resources have licensing restrictions from publishers that only permit current student and faculty access. These include ebook, streaming video and full text journal databases. This guide specifies which resources from D'Youville you can continue to use as well as where you can find free replacements to help you with your research, organization and recreational needs. Library Memberships Signing up for a card at a library is a good place to start. Many of the resources that you might want can be found in a library. Below are three library options to get you started. The D'Youville Library is still an option for those that need a place to study or are looking to check out a good book to read. You will just need to sign up for a free card from the D'Youville Alumni office. The card does offer several perks in addition to library use, so this is a smart choice. A great option for New York State residents is the New York City Public Library System. The NYC Public Library membership is free to state residents and opens a whole new world of access to you. The NYPL is the largest public library system in the nation. People from around the world use the extensive resources at the NYPL for research and recreation. Sign up for a free account and card to access their resources. Don’t forget about the Buffalo and Erie County Library. While their collection isn’t as large, they have many of the same resources as the New York Public Library. This is a great option if you are staying local and need to do some research or find something to read. They have an Interlibrary Loan service allowing you to order books, dvds and other materials not found in their collections. Sign up for a library card to start using their services. The public library examples above work best for those that live in New York, but their are comparable public library choices throughout the United States. Libraries are the best option when you are looking for books to read. Most public libraries also provide Interlibrary Loan services, so they can get books that are not within their collections. Other types of material may be found in a variety of places. Below are some good places to find free resources such as e-books, full text articles and streaming video. E-books and Audiobooks The Libby app is the most popular app to use for checking out e-books from libraries. All three of the libraries mentioned above use Libby. The app can be used to browse, select, and read e-books or audiobooks. The Libby app is freely available for Apple, Android and can be used on most web browsers. SimplyE is an app created by the New York Public Library for accessing e-books in their collection. It also connects to a large assortment of public domain and Creative Commons books. It is a free app and can be used on both Apple and Android devices. Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles Finding full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers is a little more work. Many publications allow you to view a limited number of articles for free on their websites though. If viewing an article on a publications web site is not available, you can check with your public library to see if they have an online subscription to the publication. The New York Public Library has over 100 of the top magazines and newspapers available for reading through the Flipster. You might be more interested in research than in reading, you can try out some of the many journal article databases available. Visit the Research and Resources page from the Buffalo Public Library to view their large assortment of databases. The New York Public Library also boasts an impressive list of research databases (https://www.nypl.org/research/collections/articles-databases). There are also many free, scholarly based research databases available on the Internet. One of the most popular is Google Scholar. It is as easy to use as standard Google, but it only covers scholarly publications. Google Scholar will link out to full text when available. Many "open access (OA)" research databases can be found on the Internet. Many of these databases specialize on particular topics such as medicine, business, agriculture, etc... Visit the "Open Access Database" page on our website to browse and view some of these free resources. You might also try out newer AI powered research tools. We have listed several tools that might be helpful for this purpose on our AI for Library Research page. Video Hoopla has streaming video including popular movies. You can watch online or download the app to watch on your Apple or Android devices. Movies are free when you create an account with your library card. Each library has its own collection of titles so if you have accounts with multiple systems you can sign in for different content. Fans of independent cinema will enjoy Projectr from the New York Public Library. This streaming platform includes award winning features, documentaries and artistic works from around the globe. Citation Management Zotero is free sofrware that helps you collect, organize and cite your research. It can be downloaded on computers using any of the major operating systems (Windows, Mac, Linux). It includes thousands of citation styles including MLA, APA, AMA and many, many more. You can also create folders that allow you to share your research with a team. You can also sync the data on each of your devices so you always have access to your research. This list is just a starting point for finding quality content for free. As a new graduate we hope this information can help you to save money, stay informed and stay engaged. ...