D'Youville Library Dispatch

As Halloween approaches this year, the library continues to plumb its collection for options for those seeking something frightful. Take a look at earlier posts with options from our streaming video and new eBook collections.

However, we didn't want to leave out those seeking the primordial pleasures of reading a book by candlelight. We have created the following list of titles just for you!

All of these titles (and many more) are available on our Halloween display on the second floor of the library.

Twilight Eyes

by Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie is no ordinary man. With eyes the color of twilight, he’s been blessed with a psychic gift: premonitions. He’s also been cursed, for Slim can see the monsters hiding among us, feeding on our suffering...

And when Slim joins a traveling carnival seeking sanctuary, what he’ll find is a hunting ground—with humanity as the prey.

Black House

by Stephen King and Peter Straub

Jack Sawyer, a retired homicide detective living in rural Wisconsin, doesn't remember his boyhood journey into the parallel universe called the Territories. Jack is recruited to help find a brutal serial killer who is stalking the region and whose methods resemble those of Albert Fish who committed murders thirty years earlier, but is there an even more malignant force at work?

The Mummy

by Anne Rice

Ramses the Great lives!
 

But having drunk the elixer of live, he is now Ramses the Damned, doomed forever to wander the earth, desperate to quell hungers that can never be satisfied.

Haunted

by Leo Braudy

This book explores how fear has been shaped into images of monsters and monstrosity. From the Protestant Reformation to contemporary horror films and fiction, he explores four major types: the monster from nature (King Kong), the created monster (Frankenstein), the monster from within (Mr. Hyde), and the monster from the past (Dracula). Drawing upon deep historical and literary research, Braudy discusses the lasting presence of fearful imaginings in an age of scientific progress, viewing the detective genre as a rational riposte to the irrational world of the monstrous.

For this year's list of Halloween movies we ask - what would Stephen King watch?

After all this master of the macabre has authored dozens of novels and hundreds of short stories in the genre. Many of his works have been turned into popular movies. If anyone has an expert opinion on what is frightening it is Mr King.

A quick search of the Internet confirms that he does enjoy a scary movie. Below are movies from our Kanopy streaming collection that Stephen King has mentioned as among his favorites. Watch them if you dare.....

The Witch

In this exquisitely made and terrifying horror film, the age-old concepts of witchcraft, black magic and possession are innovatively brought together to tell the intimate and riveting story of one family’s frightful unraveling.

Winner of Best First Feature and Best First Screenplay at the Film Independent Spirit Awards. Winner of a Directing Award at the Sundance Film Festival.

The Brood

A disturbed woman is receiving a radical form of psychotherapy at a remote, mysterious institute. Meanwhile, her five-year-old daughter, under the care of her estranged husband, is being terrorized by a group of demonic beings. How these two story lines connect is the shocking and grotesque secret of this bloody tale of monstrous parenthood.

Diabolique

The story of two women—the fragile wife and the willful mistress of the sadistic headmaster of a boys' boarding school—who hatch a daring revenge plot. With its unprecedented narrative twists and terrifying images, Diabolique is a heart-grabbing benchmark in horror filmmaking.

Dementia 13

In DEMENTIA 13, we follow Louise Haloran who is left widowed after her husband suddenly dies of a heart attack. Worried she will not be able to claim any of her husband's inheritance, she convinces his family he is away on a business trip and joins them at their Castle estate on an isolated Irish island.

The family has gathered in remembrance of the 7 year anniversary of their daughter's death - and Louise is about to find out that the Haloran family has a morbid way of mourning their dead…

The Stepfather

A family-values man named Jerry Blake marries widows and divorcées with children in search of the perfect family. As soon as his new family members show signs of being human and not robots who will march unquestioningly to his tune, his dreams of domestic bliss begin to crumble, and he kills them. Then he alters his appearance, assumes a new identity, and skips to another town to begin the deadly ritual all over again. He marries Susan Maine, who sees him as the ideal surrogate father for her teenage daughter Stephanie, and he is soon up to his old tricks when she proves to be too much of a troublesome teen to handle.

You no longer have to go into that spooky old library to find something interesting to read for this Halloween. Bring the terror to your tablet, Kindle, phone (or other favorite device) with these easy to download ebooks from our Overdrive collection.

Atmospheric thrills, apocalyptic terror, and a touch of spooky humor - these books cover an assortment of fright. These titles are perfect for those that need a little break from the horror of homework.

The Shining Stephen King

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote . . . and more sinister. And the only one to notice the strange and terrible forces gathering around the Overlook is Danny Torrance, a uniquely gifted five-year-old.

World War Z Max Brooks

We survived the zombie apocalypse, but how many of us are still haunted by that terrible time? We have (temporarily?) defeated the living dead, but at what cost? Told in the haunting and riveting voices of the men and women who witnessed the horror firsthand, World War Z is the only record of the pandemic.

Just an Ordinary Day Shirley Jackson

Here are tales of torment, psychological aberration, and the macabre, as well as those that display her lighter touch with humorous scenes of domestic life. Reflecting the range and complexity of Jackson’s talent, Just an Ordinary Day reaffirms her enduring influence and celebrates her singular voice, rich with magic and resonance.

Horrorstor Grady Hendrix

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.

To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.

Creed Trisha Leaver, Lindsay Currie

When their car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, Dee, her boyfriend Luke, and Luke’s brother, Mike, seek help in the nearby town of Purity Springs. But as they walk the vacant streets, the teens make some disturbing discoveries. The seemingly deserted homes each contain a sinister book with violent instructions on disciplining children. The graveyard is full of unmarked crosses. Worst of all, there’s no way to contact the outside world. When Purity Springs’ inhabitants suddenly appear, Dee, Luke, and Mike find themselves at the mercy of Elijah Hawkins, the town’s charismatic leader who has his own plans for the three of them. Their only hope for survival is Elijah’s enigmatic son, Joseph. And his game may be just as deadly as his father’s . .

Welcome to the D’Youville Library! This short guide will help get you started with your research. It includes research support services and resources to help you complete any level research project.

The library has thousands of books and access to millions of articles through its large collection of databases. There are dozens of databases to choose from, so it can be quite confusing to start. Getting to know the library research resources will help you get the best results, so it is helpful to take some time to learn how to navigate our system.

Library Services

You can borrow materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. All you need is your school id. Most books can be checked out for a month, while DVDs are due back in a week. Don’t worry if you can’t bring the item back on time, we don’t charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned).

Our Research Librarians help you find information. No appointment is necessary. Just visit the library service desk during business hours. We can show you how to best use Internet and library resources to find high quality information for your academic projects. Don’t have time to stop in? We can also assist you by phone, email or zoom.

Can’t find something you need in our library? No problem! Our Interlibrary Loan service can requests things from other libraries across North America. This service is free of charge – so don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!

Electronic Resources

Explore our large collection of digital and physical resources using the D’YouSearch discovery tool. This simple to use, multidisciplinary search tool is the best starting place for your research. Whether you are looking for books in the building or full text articles from our vast electronic collection, D’YouSearch can help you find it fast.

Those with a specific database in mind will want to visit our A to Z directory. Browse databases by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search The filters narrow down your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.

Research Tutorials

We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials includes tips to help you become a better researcher.

This blog includes posts on database selection and search techniques. The articles not only cover how to search, but they help you understand where and why you might use a particular resource. Learn how to use our resources for specific classes, assignments and find solutions to common research problems that students encounter. We also highlight books, ebooks, databases and other helpful or new resources here.

Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.

Connect

Keep connected and informed about library services and resources:

Follow us on Twitter @dyclibrary for updates on new resources, services and tutorials.

Bookmark our web page. It contains links and information for all of our resources.

Contact us today with any questions.

As a student you will probably collect all kinds of interesting information to help you with your studies. Many of these will be for research projects in various classes. Some will be useful throughout your time as a student, while others may only be useful for a specific paper. Quick and effortless retrieval of key citations from your collection will allow you to concentrate on writing a better paper.

Bookmarking web sites is simple. You can save and categorize your favorite web sites with a simple button click. Saving the results of your hard work on research projects is often much more complicated. It doesn’t have to be.

Refworks makes collecting citations as simple as saving bookmarks. This citation management software gathers the essential information for proper citations and saves it to your collection. It allows you to tag and drop records into folders for later retrieval. This painless process will allow you to keep organized while you search, no need to take time later to get your selections in order.

Additional time saving features include keyword searches of your collection and citation sorting by title, author and publication date.

Refworks also gives you the option to save a full text PDF for each citation. You can highlight key phrases and make notes on the PDFs to help you remember important information about articles.

All of your information is in one place, organized and annotated. Losing information is a thing of the past.

Did we mention that Refworks is free for all students and faculty of D’Youville?

Here is a short tutorial to get you started with organizing your Refworks citations. It is included in our YouTube playlist of Refworks tutorials.

The new research portal for the D'Youville Library research is now live! The new site contains links to all our important resources. New menus and organization make it easier to get to the materials you need. The site is complete with an integrated blog to learn more about new books, databases and search tips.