D'Youville Library Dispatch - LibGuides at D'Youville University

Visible Body is an interactive, 3D human anatomy software with effective and easy to use study tools to help you succeed on your exams.

While the platform is best known for its realistic virtual dissections, simulations and animations there are some additional tools to assess your understanding of anatomy.

Select the "Study" icon from the top menu after launching the Visible Body Suite. This will open the study module and see the options available. The most commonly used tools in this module are familiar to students from many disciplines: flashcards and quizzes.

Flashcard Overview

Flashcards are like the traditional flashcards used to help people memorize and recall information. In Visible Body sections of anatomy are pinned and you can click to turn the card over to see if you have identified the piece correctly.

There are several options for flashcards including custom made note cards and decks or you can select a premade deck.

The premade deck is an easy way to jump right into using the software for study. Just select an area of the body you would like to test yourself with and click away.

Select the Flashcard deck option from the top menu and then click on the blue "Get Premade Decks" at the bottom of the screen.

You can then search by keyword or browse through body systems. The interface has several different ways to filter and sort your results to find just what you need.

Choose the "VB Suite" option for the "Open with" menu button below the module you would like to view.

After a short initialization period, the VB Suite will open to the selected premade deck. Most of these decks will show an image of an area of the body with a numbered pin. Some decks will ask a question that you will have to answer. The answer in both cases can be seen by clicking anywhere near the image. The card will flip over to reveal the answer.

The navigation bar below the image indicates the length of the deck and allows you to move through the cards in the deck. Select the icon to the right of the navigation buttons to see a complete list of cards for the deck.

You can also create your flashcards and decks to meet your specific study needs.

Take a Quiz

The main study menu gives you a few different categories of quizzes to choose from including human anatomy, muscles and kinesiology, biology and pathology.

The quizzes generally task you with finding a specific structure within a part of the body. You can rotate the model and use the dissection tool to get move into different layers to find the the requested item. The software gives you three tries to submit the correct answer.

Find out more

The information included above should be enough to get you started. The Visible Body Suite has a number of additional tools and functionality to help you learn anatomy.

Here are some links to tutorials and help documents that can help you become effective at using this valuable resource:

Recent Posts

Mastering Human Anatomy - Unlocking the Study Tools of Visible Body

Visible Body is an interactive, 3D human anatomy software with effective and easy to use study tools to help you succeed on your exams. While the platform is best known for its realistic virtual dissections, simulations and animations there are some additional tools to assess your understanding of anatomy. Select the "Study" icon from the top menu after launching the Visible Body Suite. This will open the study module and see the options available. The most commonly used tools in this module are familiar to students from many disciplines: flashcards and quizzes. Flashcard Overview Flashcards are like the traditional flashcards used to help people memorize and recall information. In Visible Body sections of anatomy are pinned and you can click to turn the card over to see if you have identified the piece correctly.There are several options for flashcards including custom made note cards and decks or you can select a premade deck. The premade deck is an easy way to jump right into using the software for study. Just select an area of the body you would like to test yourself with and click away.Select the Flashcard deck option from the top menu and then click on the blue "Get Premade Decks" at the bottom of the screen. You can then search by keyword or browse through body systems. The interface has several different ways to filter and sort your results to find just what you need. Choose the "VB Suite" option for the "Open with" menu button below the module you would like to view. After a short initialization period, the VB Suite will open to the selected premade deck. Most of these decks will show an image of an area of the body with a numbered pin. Some decks will ask a question that you will have to answer. The answer in both cases can be seen by clicking anywhere near the image. The card will flip over to reveal the answer. The navigation bar below the image indicates the length of the deck and allows you to move through the cards in the deck. Select the icon to the right of the navigation buttons to see a complete list of cards for the deck. You can also create your flashcards and decks to meet your specific study needs. Take a Quiz The main study menu gives you a few different categories of quizzes to choose from including human anatomy, muscles and kinesiology, biology and pathology.The quizzes generally task you with finding a specific structure within a part of the body. You can rotate the model and use the dissection tool to get move into different layers to find the the requested item. The software gives you three tries to submit the correct answer. Find out more The information included above should be enough to get you started. The Visible Body Suite has a number of additional tools and functionality to help you learn anatomy.Here are some links to tutorials and help documents that can help you become effective at using this valuable resource: VB Suite: Content and FeaturesGetting StartedFlashcards and Flashcard DecksVisible Body Overview ...

AI enhanced research tools now available in Proquest Central

The Proquest Central database is a huge collection of full-text resources. This multidisciplinary database covers all major subject areas including health sciences, business and technology.It contains articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, dissertations and many other publication types.Although ideal for academic research projects, navigating and comprehending some of the material in the database can be challenging.Improve your searching with AI Research Assistant Be a more competent researcher using the AI assistant. It is easy to use and is especially useful for those just beginning their searches. It can help you find articles, focus your searches and understand your topic. How to AI in ProquestA. Enter your search terms.B. Select additional search terms from AI generated list on results page to narrow results (optional)C. Select item from result list.D. AI Research Assistant will appear in right hand columnThe AI Research Assistant provides several helpful features depending on the source it is analyzing. The AI usually provides some information about the article and options for finding additional resources.Common features include:Key takeaway - creates a short and easy to understand summary of the document.Suggested Sources - AI analyzes documents and provides links to related material in Proquest.Indexing Terms - extracts subject terms from text and links to other documents using same termsBrainstorm research topics - suggests possible research topics based on analysis of the article. Helpful when starting a paper and looking for defined sub-topics.Important Concepts description - creates ranked list of concepts with definitions to aid with comprehension of document and topic Example Search 1. We will enter the term “sleep hygiene” into the Proquest Central Interface. 2. The AI Research Assistant will provide you additional terms to help you narrow your search. These terms are pulled from the documents found in the results list. Clicking on one of the terms will add it to the search box and automatically run a new search including the new terms. 3. Select item from search results. This will take you to the full text. 4. Research assistant will generate the “key takeaway” from selected material in right column on the full text screen. 5. The assistant also creates a list of “suggested sources” that is located just below the “key takeaway”. This list often contains links to resources to help you better understand your topic. 6. The third item in the right hand column is the “indexing terms” display. It can be used to refine your search topic. Read the list and select terms of interest to run a new search that adds the index terms to your original search. 7. Below the “indexing terms” are two blue buttons that can be selected to run additional analysis. 8. The “Brainstorm related research topics” is similar in function to the indexing terms display above but uses AI to help you focus your search. Select one of the related research topics by clicking on the magnifying glass next to that topic. This will run a new search in the database. 9. The “Describe the important concepts” button will do additional analysis of the selected document and create a list of concepts that it finds. Each concept will include a definition written by the AI designed to help with comprehending the material. Optimize your searches using the AI research assistant in Proquest Central. It is easy to use and can help you find information that you didn't even know you needed. ...

Be afraid, be very afraid - with these morbid movies this Halloween!

No need to get dressed up and go door to door for candy this Halloween. We have some terrifying treats for you that you can enjoy from the comfort of your couch. These are just a few of the frightful features from our Kanopy streaming collection. We have included a mix of movies - some new, some classic and some international features. Have a great Halloween season and enjoy these free movies! The VourdalakIn this drama-horror film, set in 18th-century Eastern Europe, Marquis Jacques Antoine Saturnin d’Urfé (Kacey Mottet Klein), an emissary of the King of France, seeks refuge at an isolated manor after being attacked and abandoned. The family reluctantly takes him in, exhibiting strange behavior as they await the return of their father, Gorcha. Based on Aleksey Konstantinovich Tolstoy’s novella “The Family of the Vourdalak,” the film, directed by Adrien Beau, delves into a chilling tale of suspense and supernatural terror. Talk To MeWhen a group of friends discover how to conjure spirits using an embalmed hand, they become hooked on the new thrill, until one of them goes too far and unleashes terrifying supernatural forces. Evil Dead 2A masterclass in horror-comedy, EVIL DEAD II blends relentless terror with dark, twisted humor. Directed by Sam Raimi, this cult classic throws you into a whirlwind of over-the-top gore, demonic possession, and Bruce Campbell’s unforgettable performance as the chainsaw-wielding Ash. It’s a nonstop thrill ride packed with inventive camera work, striking practical effects, and a story that is as hilarious as it is horrifying. Train to BusanA man (Gong Yoo), his estranged daughter and other passengers become trapped on a speeding train during a zombie outbreak in South Korea. The WretchedFollowing his parents’ separation, a rebellious teenage boy, Ben, is sent to live with his father for the summer. Ben’s problems grow increasingly disturbing when he makes a chilling discovery about the family renting the house next door. A malevolent spirit from the woods has taken ahold of the parents and starts playing a sinister game of house, preying upon the children and wiping away any trace of their existence. More spooky video selections can be found at:https://www.kanopy.com/en/dyc/category/60744 Also take a look at our Halloween book selections for those in the mood for some sinister reading. ...

Some frightening tales to make you feel a little better!

Mutant rats, possessed children, killer automobiles and psycho slashers are just a few of the treats we have selected for your reading pleasure this Halloween. This short list is a nice appetizer to the sinister season. We have many more options from which to choose. Scary stories are not just Halloween fun, but they can also help you cope with stress according to researchers. Reading horror stories can help us learn about potential threats and experience harrowing situations without having to face the problem s ourselves. So come visit us for some frightening, yet relaxing and refreshing stories. You can check out these titles and several other from our Halloween displays. Our collection includes books, e-books, audiobooks and video - giving you a variety of options to feel the fear. Books Night Shift by Stephen KingISBN: 9780307947291Publication Date: 2012-08-07A collection of bone-chilling, nail-biting tales from the undisputed master of horror that showcases the darkest depths of his brilliant imagination and will "chill the cockles of many a heart" (Chicago Tribune).. INCLUDES THE STORY"THE BOOGEYMAN"- NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM 20th CENTURY STUDIOS Originally published in 1978, Night Shift is the inspiration for over a dozen acclaimed horror movies and television series, including Children of the Corn, Chapelwaite, and Lawnmower Man. Night Shift is Stephen King's first collection of short stories--a perfect showcase of just how far King's dark imagination can go. Here we see mutated rats gone bad ("Graveyard Shift"); a cataclysmic virus that threatens humanity ("Night Surf," the basis for The Stand); a possessed, evil lawnmower ("The Lawnmower Man"); unsettling children from the heartland ("Children of the Corn"); a smoker who will try anything to stop ("Quitters, Inc."); a reclusive alcoholic who begins a gruesome transformation ("Gray Matter"); and many more. This is Stephen King at his horrifying best. Poe's Children by Peter StraubISBN: 9780385522830Publication Date: 2008-10-14From the incomparable master of horror and suspense comes an electrifying collection of contemporary literary horror, with stories from twenty-five writers representing today’s most talented voices in the genre. Horror writing is usually associated with formulaic gore, but New Wave horror writers have more in common with the wildly inventive, evocative spookiness of Edgar Allan Poe than with the sometimes-predictable hallmarks of their peers. Showcasing this cutting-edge talent,Poe’s Children now brings the best of the genre’s stories to a wider audience. Featuring tales from such writers as Neil Gaiman and Jonathan Carroll,Poe’s Children is Peter Straub’s tribute to the imaginative power of storytelling. Each previously published story has been selected by Straub to represent what he thinks is the most interesting development in our literature during the last two decades. Selections range from the early Stephen King psychological thriller “The Ballad of the Flexible Bullet,” in which an editor confronts an author’s belief that his typewriter is inhabited by supernatural creatures, to “The Man on the Ceiling,” Melanie and Steve Rasnic Tem’s award-winning surreal tale of night terrors, woven with daylight fears that haunt a family. Other selections include National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon’s “The Bees”; Peter Straub’s “Little Red’s Tango,” the legend of a music aficionado whose past is as mysterious as the ghostly visitors to his Manhattan apartment; Elizabeth Hand’s visionary and shocking “Cleopatra Brimstone”; Thomas Ligotti’s brilliant, mind-stretching “Notes on the Writing of Horror: A Story”; and “Body,” Brian Evenson’s disturbing twist on correctional facilities. Crossing boundaries and packed with imaginative chills,Poe’s Children bears all the telltale signs of fearless, addictive fiction. Final Girls by Mira Grant; Julie Dillon (Illustrator)ISBN: 9781596068230Publication Date: 2017-04-30hat if you could fix the worst parts of yourself by confronting your worst fears?Dr. Jennifer Webb has invented proprietary virtual reality technology that purports to heal psychological wounds by running clients through scenarios straight out of horror movies and nightmares. In a carefully controlled environment, with a medical cocktail running through their veins, sisters might develop a bond they've been missing their whole lives while running from the bogeyman through a simulated forest. But]]can real change come so easily?Esther Hoffman doubts it. Esther has spent her entire journalism career debunking pseudoscience, after phony regression therapy ruined her father's life. She's determined to unearth the truth about Dr. Webb's budding company. Dr. Webb's willing to let her, of course, for reasons of her own. What better advertisement could she get than that of a convinced skeptic? But Esther's not the only one curious about how this technology works. Enter real-world threats just as frightening as those created in the lab. Dr. Webb and Esther are at odds, but they may also be each other's only hope of survival.With her new novella Final Girls, bestselling, award-winning author Mira Grant has conjured a heart stopping, gut-wrenching story filled with as many twists as it is versions of reality. Grant offers a chilling exploration of how surviving horrors might define us all. My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham JonesISBN: 9781982137632Publication Date: 2021-08-31Winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel Named a Best Book of 2021 by NPR In her quickly gentrifying rural lake town Jade sees recent events only her encyclopedic knowledge of horror films could have prepared her for in this latest novel from the Jordan Peele of horror literature, New York Times bestselling author Stephen Graham Jones. "Some girls just don't know how to die..." Shirley Jackson meets Friday the 13th in My Heart Is a Chainsaw, written by the author of The Only Good Indians Stephen Graham Jones, called "a literary master" by National Book Award winner Tananarive Due and "one of our most talented living writers" by Tommy Orange. Alma Katsu calls My Heart Is a Chainsaw "a homage to slasher films that also manages to defy and transcend genre." On the surface is a story of murder in small-town America. But beneath is its beating heart: a biting critique of American colonialism, Indigenous displacement, and gentrification, and a heartbreaking portrait of a broken young girl who uses horror movies to cope with the horror of her own life. Jade Daniels is an angry, half-Indian outcast with an abusive father, an absent mother, and an entire town that wants nothing to do with her. She lives in her own world, a world in which protection comes from an unusual source: horror movies...especially the ones where a masked killer seeks revenge on a world that wronged them. And Jade narrates the quirky history of Proofrock as if it is one of those movies. But when blood actually starts to spill into the waters of Indian Lake, she pulls us into her dizzying, encyclopedic mind of blood and masked murderers, and predicts exactly how the plot will unfold. Yet, even as Jade drags us into her dark fever dream, a surprising and intimate portrait emerges...a portrait of the scared and traumatized little girl beneath the Jason Voorhees mask: angry, yes, but also a girl who easily cries, fiercely loves, and desperately wants a home. A girl whose feelings are too big for her body. My Heart Is a Chainsaw is her story, her homage to horror and revenge and triumph. Scowler by Daniel KrausISBN: 9780385743099Publication Date: 2013-03-12Equal parts haunting and horrifying, this literary horror novel gives readers insight into the mind of a controlling homicidal man and the son who must stop him. "Marvin Burke is one of the great monsters of literature, a figure of immense, credible terror and savagery."--Cory Doctorow, author of Little Children and coeditor of Boing Boing Imagine your father is a monster. Would that mean there are monsters inside you, too? Nineteen-year-old Ry Burke, his mother, and little sister eke out a living on their dying family farm. Ry wishes for anything to distract him from the grim memories of his father's physical and emotional abuse. Then a meteorite falls from the sky, bringing with it not only a fragment from another world but also the arrival of a ruthless man intent on destroying the entire family. Soon Ry is forced to defend himself by resurrecting a trio of imaginary childhood protectors: kindly Mr. Furrington, wise Jesus, and the bloodthirsty Scowler. The Book of Accidents by Chuck WendigISBN: 9780399182136Publication Date: 2021-07-20NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A family returns to their hometown--and to the dark past that haunts them still--in this masterpiece of literary horror by the New York Times bestselling author of Wanderers LOCUS AWARD FINALIST * "The dread, the scope, the pacing, the turns--I haven't felt all this so intensely since The Shining."--Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Good Indians ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Public Library, Library Journal Long ago, Nathan lived in a house in the country with his abusive father--and has never told his family what happened there. Long ago, Maddie was a little girl making dolls in her bedroom when she saw something she shouldn't have--and is trying to remember that lost trauma by making haunting sculptures. Long ago, something sinister, something hungry, walked in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of their hometown in rural Pennsylvania. Now, Nate and Maddie Graves are married, and they have moved back to their hometown with their son, Oliver. And now what happened long ago is happening again . . . and it is happening to Oliver. He meets a strange boy who becomes his best friend, a boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic. This dark magic puts them at the heart of a battle of good versus evil and a fight for the soul of the family--and perhaps for all of the world. But the Graves family has a secret weapon in this battle: their love for one another. Symbiont by Mira GrantISBN: 9780316218993Publication Date: 2014-11-25From New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant comes the second book in the terrifying Parasitology series. The SymboGen-designed tapeworms were created to relieve humanity of disease and sickness. But the implants in the majority of the world's population began attacking their hosts, turning them into a ravenous horde. Now those who do not appear to be afflicted are being gathered for quarantine as panic spreads, but Sal and her companions must discover how the tapeworms are taking over their hosts, what their eventual goal is, and how they can be stopped. "A riveting near-future medical thriller that reads like the genetically-engineered love child of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton." --John Joseph Adams on Parasite More from Mira Grant: Parasitology Parasite Symbiont Chimera Newsflesh Feed Deadline Blackout Feedback Rise ...