Open Access Databases: home

Comprehensive collection of business databases (ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry) providing users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry. Includes hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.

AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

A pioneer of open access publishing, BioMed Central has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series. Expanding beyond biomedicine into the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines, BMC now offers a wider portfolio of subject fields on a single open access platform.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. The database contains over 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Provides citations only for peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers. ICL is indexed by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON), health sciences librarians from chiropractic colleges throughout the world. Subject terms are taken from CLIBCON's thesaurus (ChiroSH, or Chiropractic Subject Headings) and from the U.S. National Library of Medicine's MeSH(Medical Subject Headings).

Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology site provides chemical and physical property data on over 40000 compounds.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

OER Commons (OER for open educational resources) is a freely accessible online library that allows teachers and others to search and discover open educational resources (OER) and other freely available instructional materials.

Open textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These 700+ books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. They can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

OpenStax offers free, high-quality, openly licensed textbooks integrated with personalized learning technology. OpenStax textbook projects are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable and accurate, meet the scope and sequence requirements of each course, are supported by instructor ancillaries, and are available with the latest technology-based learning tools.

OSTI.GOV makes over 70 years of research results from the Dept. of Energy and predecessor agencies discoverable. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; technical reports; patents; conference and workshop papers.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

PubChem is an open chemistry database that mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.

The Turning Research Into Practice(TRIP) database uses the principles of evidence based medicine to quickly find current information on the web to answer clinical questions.