LibGuides: Pharmacy Resources: home

Drug Information Resources

Clinical Pharmacology
Clinical Pharmacology provides a single resource to answer all your medication questions, empowering you to maximize your time and productivity. The content is updated “live” to include newly released drug products and breaking developments. Clinical Pharmacology is accepted by all 50 state Boards of Pharmacy as a compendium to fulfill the drug reference requirements for licensed pharmacies, and is officially recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as a drug compendium for determining the appropriate use of drugs and biologics for cancer patients
Facts and Comparisons
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers offers online access to up-to-date drug information to help enable better therapeutic decisions in less time. Backed by more than 60 years of editorial expertise, you can be assured of unbiased, reliable content from the publishers of the definitive industry reference, Drug Facts and Comparisons®.
LexiDrug (UpToDate)
LexiDrug delivers superior drug information to support medication safety. Its comprehensive content provides clear, concise, and accurate information which is updated daily by their in-house clinical staff. The database includes: Dosing by route, population, indication; Renal/hepatic impairment adjustments; Special FDA Alerts/Black Box Warnings; Drug Interaction Analysis; Clinical pearls addressing anesthesia, cardiology, critical care, oncology, mental health and more.
Micromedex
Evidence based information from Micromedex, including all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. Our subscription includes access to the Martindale and Neofax/Peds drug information resources.
NatMed
Natural Medicines provides in-depth information about dietary supplement products and ingredients based on the best available scientific evidence. You can get ratings for the safety and effectiveness of products along with the uses, benefits, side effects, drug interactions, etc. of the ingredients found in dietary supplement products for general health and wellness, sports medicine applications, and more.

Related Databases

Embase
With over 24 million indexed records and more than 7,600 currently indexed peer-reviewed journals, Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Embase's unique and comprehensive journal and conference coverage, together with in-depth drug indexing and daily updates including Articles in Press, supports tracking and precise retrieval of drug and disease information.
ScienceDirect
Database contains ScienceDirect Life & Health Sciences Edition, and Social & Behavioral Sciences Edition. Users can access full-text articles as well as abstract records. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued.
PharmacyLibrary
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) is leading the next generation of online pharmacy resources. PharmacyLibrary features content from a selection of APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.
Up To Date
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,500 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.
Medline with Full Text
MEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Cochrane Central Register for Controlled Trials
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. This database is updated quarterly.

Suggested Resources by Application

This chart suggests the best resource to use for seeking the information you need by topic.

The hyperlinked databases in the chart are subscriptions only available to current students and faculty. The others are free online to anyone.

Clinical Aspect	Preferred Source	Secondary Resources
Adverse Effects	Clinical Pharmacology (Tools), LexiDrug, Micromedex, Facts & Comparisons	Manufacturer websites
Chemical Data	SciFinder	ChemSpider, PubChem
Clinical Trials	Cochrane Database for Controlled Trials, Micromedex	Clinicaltrials.gov
Comparative Information	Facts & Comparisons, Clinical Pharmacology, Mircomedex, UpToDate	Medline, PubMed
Contraindications	Clinical Pharmacology, LexiDrug , Micromedex	Manufacturer websites
Cultural information	PharmacyLibrary	Medline, ScienceDirect, PubMed
Current Research/News	Embase, Facts & Comparisons, Medline, ScienceDirect	LexiDrug, PubMed
Disease Information	UpToDate, Micromedex	Medline, PubMed, cdc.gov
Drug Administration/Dosage Calculators	LexiDrug, Facts & Comparisons, Clinical Pharmacology, Micromedex	Manufacturer websites
Drug Interactions	LexiDrug, Micromedex, Clinical Pharmacology	Facts & Comparisons , manufacturer websites, PubMed, drugs.com
Exam Review / NAPLEX	PharmacyLibrary (review books and online exam practice)
Foreign Drugs	Index Nominum (Micromedex), Martindale (Micromedex)	Embase, Medline, PubMed
Herbs and Natural Products	NatMed Pro (Natural Medicines)	Facts & Comparisons, LexiDrug, Google Scholar
Identification	Facts & Comparisons, Mircomedex, LexiDrug, Clinical Pharmacology	Drugs.com (Pill Identifier)
IV Compatibility	Clinical Pharmacology (Tools), Facts & Comparisons (Trissel’s IV Compatibility)
Investigational/New Drugs	Facts & Comparisons, LexiDrug	drugs.com (New Drug Approvals), clinicaltrials.gov
Over-the-Counter Medications	Micromedex, LexiDrug, Facts & Comparisons	drugs.com
Patient Education & Counseling	LexiDrug, Mircomedex (Care Notes)	medlineplus.gov
Pharmacogenomics	LexiDrug	Mircomedex
Pharmacokinetics	PharmacyLibrary	Mircomedex
Pricing	Micromedex - Red Book
Storage & Stability	LexiDrug, Mircomedex	Manufacturer websites
Toxicology	Micromedex, LexiDrug, Clinical Pharmacology (ToxED)	PubChem, PubMed

For Assistance

Please contact the librarians for help using library resources or finding information!

Librarians are available in person Monday- Friday, from 8:30-4:30. Zoom appointments are also available.

Email: library@dyc.edu

Phone: 716-829-7618

Check our Frequently Asked Questions

Regulatory/Legal Drug Information

Federal Information

New York State

Laws, Rules, and Regulations

Ontario, Canada

Regulations and Standards

Books and eBooks

Many books and eBooks can be accessed through the library catalog. Current students and faculty can access eBooks from on or off campus. Some databases also include reference textbooks. PharmacyLibrary has a popular collection of online textbooks.

Key Texts Include:

Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann; Randa Hilal-Dandan
ISBN: 9781259584732
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Tenth Edition by Gary R. Matzke; Barbara G. Wells; L. Michael Posey; Joseph T. DiPiro; Robert L. Talbert; Gary C. Yee
ISBN: 9781259587481
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Remington by Loyd V. Allen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857110626
Publication Date: 2012-09-03