AI enhanced research tools offer several features not available in traditional search engines. These tools are able to quickly analyze complex research and generate easy to read summaries of articles and search results.
In addition, AI can also be used to determine where and how to search.
The research planning stage is broken down into three steps.
Understanding Your Topic
Identifying Search Terms
Determining Where to Search
Starting out a research topic can be intimidating, partly because you are unsure of the topic. It is harder to find information on a topic when you are do not know what you are looking for. Improving your understanding of a topic will help to guide you in your searching.
Unlike search engines, some AI try to generate answers rather than lists of links. This can save you the time of selecting several web sites for information. Just ask the AI a question about a topic and it will create an answer for you.
AI can be most effective when starting investigating a new subject. Use it to help develop and direct your topic.
Tools:
Duck Duck Go - provides access to several popular AI models including ChatGPT, Claude, Llama and Mixtral
Google Gemini - Searches and synthesizes information providing up to date information
Microsoft Copilot – Includes sample follow up questions to help you learn more about your topic
Perplexity – Perplexity includes clear citations to the information that it creates
Example Prompt:
"Provide me with a list of ten research topics that deal with mental health for nurses."
Notes:
Although they look similar, AI tools do not work the same as search engines. These resources are more conversational. Asking an AI for information is like asking a person. This conversation with AI is known as prompting. Take a look at this short guide to AI prompting to get started or ask your favorite AI for tips!
The AI can also format answers or write them in a specific styles. The example prompt above asks for a list, but I could have asked for a technical report or casual answer.
Now that you understand your topic better, you can start searching. AI can get you started with some keywords that you might use. Be specific. You might use some of the information created by the earlier prompts for background material to create this prompt.
Tools:
Use any of the tools listed in the section above.
Example Prompt:
" What are some keywords I can use to find current research on work related stress on the mental health of nurses?"
Notes:
Some AI chatbots may keep track of your prompts and use this information as you continue to ask it questions. The search term prompt above included the names of databases that can be searched, possibly in response to having a query on that topic earlier in the session.
AI can also give you insight on where some of the best places to find information might be.
You can have the AI create a general list of databases that you can search to find articles on your topic. Take this list to the library website to see if you have access to the databases mentioned by AI.
Tools:
Google Gemini- This is a combination of an AI with the Google search engine. You can ask it to provide you with a list of databases that might work for your project. You can even specify which library you will be using for a more specific answer.
Example Prompt:
"What library databases can I use to find scholarly articles about the mental health of nurses?"
Notes:
This should provide a list of databases commonly found at libraries. You will need to go to our A to Z database directory to see if the database is available through the D'Youville Library.