Locate and Access Articles
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine that lets users look for both physical and digital copies of articles. It searches a wide variety of sources, including academic publishers, universities, and preprint depositories looking for: Peer-reviewed articles. Theses.
Information Liaisons
LIBRARIES!!!! (and a couple of other places)
Library at your affiliated health care facility
University at Buffalo Friends of the University Libraries Program -- Membership in the Friends of the University Libraries Borrower Program is open to anyone interested in borrowing privileges at the University of Buffalo Libraries. For a yearly fee of $50.00, Friends receive a Courtesy Borrower account allowing them to borrow materials from the University Libraries’ collections and on-site use of Library Research Stations.
NOVELny -- all residents of NYS can remotely access databases; the easiest way is using a public library card
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library ILL -- BECPL card holders may make interlibrary loan requests
New York Public Library -- all residents of NYS can apply for a NYPL card and remotely access their database resources
AOTA -- Members have online access to all AJOT supplements, full text articles and archives
Alma mater Alumni Association -- Full access to databases usually only lasts one year post graduation; members of the alumni association may be able to access databases while on campus
Workshop Objectives
Utilize PICO and the most effective keyword(s) and/or MeSH terms to search on a clinically relevant topic
Locate clinically relevant abstracts for articles grounded in evidence-based practice utilizing resources that are freely available on the web
Access tools for obtaining full text articles that are freely available on the web
Identify other clinically relevant and evidence-based resources on the web
Find information liaisons who will help obtain full text either freely or at a reduced rate
Evidence Based Practice
Source: http://libguides.csuchico.edu/c.php?g=414282&p=2821925 (Meriam Library Research Station)
Why use PICO questions?
1. Clarifies question as it pertains to the patient
2. Identifies keywords to search
3. Elucidates relevancy of results
Tool to evaluate results: Evidence Pyramid
Source: http://www3.mdanderson.org/library/evidence-based/img/pyramid.gif (EBM Pyramid Trustees of Dartmouth College andYale University)
Graduate Assistant
Searching Medline, Pubmed and Google Scholar
Other Clinically Relevant Resources
Systematic Reviews and meta analyses
Cochrane Library -- The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Access through Wiley to free search only.
OT Seeker -- A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
Critically Appraised Topics
EPC Evidence Based Reports -- These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports.
National Guideline Clearinghouse -- NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.