Library Online Reference Resources
- R2 Digital LibraryBrowse R2 Digital Library, a web-based application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers.
Leading and Managing Occupational Therapy Services by ISBN: 9780803611924Publication Date: 2005-08-16
Occupational Therapy in Community-Based Practice Settings by ISBN: 9780803605596Publication Date: 2001-03-19
Occupational Therapy Models for Intervention with Children and Families by ISBN: 9781556427633Publication Date: 2007-04-15
The American Heritage Medical DictionaryISBN: 9780618824359
Evidence-Based Practice
The process of evidence-based practice in occupational therapy: Informing clinical decisions
This seminal article written in 2000 by Sally Bennett and John W. Bennett explains and clarifies the topic of EBP in OT. Used with permission from the Australian Occupational Therapy Journal.
The American Occupational Therapy Association
This part of the AOTA website provides evidence-based practice resources and research.
-click on the menu icon in the upper left corner
-select "settings"
-under the settings menu select "library links"
To find out if the full text of the article is available, click on either Full Text at DYC link to the right of the article citation, or Resources at DYC under the article citation. Sometimes there will be free PDFs of articles available as well; if there is, there will be a link to the right of the article citation as well.
Journal Articles
Occupational Therapy Databases
A list of databases that D'Youville students have access to specific to occupational therapy.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
PubMed
PubMed contains millions of journal articles all specific to the medical and related fields.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
Digital Commons Network: Occupational Therapy
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Montante Family Library: Find Books
Library Databases
Subject Specific Library Resources
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by Call Number: RM735.4 .S22 2007ISBN: 9780323033695Publication Date: 2007-04-03
Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence by Call Number: RM735 .O323 2014ISBN: 9781617116384Publication Date: 2014-03-15
The Developing Person Through the Life Span by Call Number: BF713 .B463 2008ISBN: 9780716760726Publication Date: 2007-11-02
Children with Disabilities, Sixth Edition by Call Number: RJ135 .B38 2007ISBN: 9781557668585Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System by Call Number: QP303 .N465 2010ISBN: 9780323039895Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Research in Occupational Therapy by Call Number: RM735 .K54 2006ISBN: 9780803615250Publication Date: 2006-06-06
Professional Organizations
- American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)AOTA is a national professional association of occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and occupational therapy students.
- Canadian Association of Occupational TherapistsThe Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists provides services, products, events and networking and leadership opportunities to assist occupational therapists achieve excellence in their professional practice.
- College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario (COTO)COTO is the governing body established by the provincial government to regulate the practice of occupational therapy in Ontario.
- New York State Occupational Therapy Association (NYSOTA)NYSOTA is a not-for-profit association of occupational therapy practitioners and friends dedicated to the advancement of the OT profession and to the improvement of the quality of occupational therapy services.
Career Guides, Certification and Licensure
- OT WorksThis site provides information and resources on the profession of occupational therapy in Canada.
- The U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Occupational Outlook HandbookFeatures information on occupational therapy careers, discussing working conditions, job outlook, training and education needed, earnings, related occupations, and additional information sources.
- National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT)A not-for-profit credentialing agency that provides certification for the occupational therapy profession. This body develops the national exam and monitors on-going professional competence.
- New York State Education DepartmentNYSED’s Office of the Professions provides occupational therapy information specific to New York State including licensure requirements, registered licensee statistics and more.
Graduate Assistant
Get Help
Research Desk: 716-829-7747
Circulation Desk: 716-829-7618
(Toll-free): 1-800-777-3921
Email: refdesk@dyc.edu
Anatomy Resources
An online atlas of human anatomy containing medical images of the whole human body in CT/MRI with labeling in various languages including English and Chinese.
Gray's Anatomy: The Anatomical Basis of Clinical Practice
Available in the library or online
Visible Body is a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, and more.
