The easiest way to get to the library website is to use your favorite search engine such as Google or Bing for the words “D’Youville Library”.
The library subscribes to electronic resources containing millions of scholarly journal articles. Many of these scholarly publications and articles are only available via subscription and not for free.
The web site connects to subscription providing you the proper links to login using your D’Youville network login.
The site also contains links to important services such as ILL and Research Assistance.
There is no centralized “library” login. The library provides access to a collection of database resources from a variety of publishers. Each of these publishers require separate logins when using their databases from off-campus. All of these resources can be accessed using your D’Youville network login. This is the same information you use for your D’Youville email.
The A to Z Directory provides a complete listing of our current database collection. You will need to use this resource because it includes information specific to the D’ . Selecting a database from this directory from off-campus will prompt a login screen.
Please contact the D’Youville Tech Support team with login questions or issues.
If you have verified your D’Youville network username and password with the Tech Lounge and are still having problems, please email library@dyc.edu. Include a brief summary of your issues and a screenshot of the problem if possible.
The number of options available via the website is large. You may not have a lot of time or energy to use making a decision where to start, so we recommend using an all purpose search tool. These tools, sometimes known as Discovery Tools, contain information from a variety of disciplines and sources.
The advantage of these tools is that they are easy to use and allow you to quickly find information from a wide variety of sources.
Here are two tools to get you started:
This is a library database that searches across the library collection. Whether you are searching for books, streaming videos or scholarly journals- D'YouSearch does it all. It is a great place to start your searching when you are unsure of where to start.
We have created a short YouTube video tutorial on searching this resource.
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine developed by Google that focuses on scholarly literature across various disciplines. Unlike the standard Google search, which retrieves a broad range of content from the entire web, Google Scholar indexes academic articles, theses, conference papers, books, and patents, providing users with access to a wealth of scholarly resources.
Although this is not part of our library collection, Google Scholar does provide links to full text when available. This tool can be linked to our library collection though. Full text items from the library will appear in the search results of Google Scholar once it is linked to our collection
After configuring Google Scholar for the D'Youville Library collection you can start searching. Google Scholar operates like regular Google, but there are some differences.
Enter your search terms like Google and you will get a set of results much like Google.
Google Scholar will only include links from scholarly publications such as research journals and books. Many of the results will come from journals that require a subscription to view. Clicking on the title for the results will generally bring you to an abstract of the article from the publisher.
Full text availability from the publisher can be determined by looking for a link to the right of the article title in the results.
If you have configured Google Scholar to work with the library, you might see links labelled "Full Text @ DYC Library". Selecting these links will open a database from the library and may require you to login.
Although D’YouSearch is convenient, it is not always the best tool to use. More specific research databases can be selected from our A to Z database directory.
This tool contains a complete list of the database resources available to you from the D’Youville Library. It is arranged alphabetically by title
The default arrangement of the list is alphabetical by title. You can use the drop down menus to view databases by subject or format. The library has curated a list of 30 databases that are helpful for nursing students for the directory.
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive nursing and allied health research database that provides access to a vast collection of full-text articles, evidence-based resources, and research instruments. It is one of the leading information resources for scholarly nursing research.
It has a number of unique search filters that are useful for D'Youville nursing students - especially those looking for articles from North American Nursing Journals or those needing articles written by nurses as a the lead author!
Here are some tutorials to get you started with CINAHL:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BUBmheI_pE&t=83s
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial
Citation management software can help you management your references and citations. These tools can do a number of useful things to assist you with the research process including:
The library provides students with access to Proquest Refworks. This sophisticated tool can do all of the above and much more.
There are many tutorials available for getting you started with Refworks and any additional questions can be sent to library@dyc.edu
The library has created some helpful topic guides and research tutorials that may be useful for nursing students. Below is a short list of some of these guides:
AI for Library Research - a list of AI based research tools that can help you with a variety of research tasks
Nursing Research - This document is a good supplement to this guide and goes into more detail on some areas of research including levels of evidence, nursing theories and research instruments.
Nursing Theory - This page lists most of the major nursing theorists and their publications
We can order material that we do not have in our library. Do not pay for articles online. Our free Interlibrary Loan service can order items from libraries across North America.
The service is easy to use. Just login with your D'Youville network ID and enter your request into the form. You will be notified via email when your material is received.
Please note that it can take a couple of days for journal articles to arrive. Books and dissertations can take longer.
The library offers research assistance services to help you with your academic needs. Our knowledgeable and experienced librarians can help you locate reliable sources for your projects, show you helpful library resources and provide you with tips for effective research.
You can meet with research librarians in person or via zoom to learn more about the research process and go over any issues you may be encountering.
Email library@dyc.edu with questions about this guide, library research and resources, or to schedule and appointment with a librarian.