Featured Database
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
When doing nursing research, the CINAHL Ultimate search options can be your best friend. Nursing research is very specialized and there are some great limits available from the Advanced page that can really help you get the articles you need more quickly.
Some key limiters are highlighted below. Articles can be limited to only those that are peer reviewed, evidence based practice, nurse authors, or select specific criteria to apply to patients, such as age group or gender. Multiple limits can be applied to any search.
Additional Relevant Databases
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowCochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
- Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE® with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE® with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE® with Full Text is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowDatabase contains ScienceDirect Life & Health Sciences Edition, and Social & Behavioral Sciences Edition. Users can access full-text articles as well as abstract records. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued.
- Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new windowEmcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is an index of peer-reviewed articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of behavioral and social psychology. We have combined it with PsycArticles, which provides the full text of all American Psychological Association produced journals.