D'Youville students have access to a huge repository of information through the university library. This collection contains high quality academic resources to meet the needs of your coursework. It can be a little overwhelming to navigate at first though. This short guide highlights important library resources and services to help you through your early research projects.
We provide more than just books in the library. We have a wide variety of databases providing full text articles, streaming video, ebooks and more.
Services
We can help you find what you need. Research Librarians can help you find credible academic information for your projects. We can teach you how to effectively use the library databases or Internet to do your research. Contact us by email at library@dyc.edu for assistance.
You can borrow physical materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. Use your school ID to check out books, DVDs, anatomy models and a variety of other resources. Most books can be checked out for six weeks. Don't worry if you can't bring the item back on time, we don't charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned). You can also email us at library@dyc.edu and we will happily renew the material for you.
image: eye model for checkout
Does the library not have what you need? No problem! Our Interlibrary Loan service can request things from other libraries across North America. This service is free of charge – so don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!
Digital Resources
Explore our large collection of digital and physical resources using the D’YouSearch discovery tool. This simple to use, multidisciplinary search tool is the best starting place for your research. Whether you are looking for books in the building or full text articles from our vast electronic collection, D’YouSearch can help you find it fast.
image: D'YouSearch
Those with a specific database in mind will want to visit our A to Z directory. Browse databases by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search The filters narrow down your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.
Image: Some of the filter options available in CINAHL
Research Tutorials
We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials include tips to help you become a better researcher.
Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.
This blog also includes posts on database selection and search techniques. The articles not only cover how to search, but they help you understand where and why you might use a particular resource. Learn how to use our resources for specific classes, assignments, or find solutions to common research problems that students encounter. We also highlight books, ebooks, databases and other helpful or new resources here.
Conclusion
The information above should help you get started with most research problems. Feel free to email the library with any additional questions at library@dyc.edu. Good luck with your research!
D’Youville students have a wealth of scholarly information resources to choose from through the university library. This collection contains high quality academic resources to meet the needs of your coursework. Using the library resources may not be intuitive at first. This guide will help you get started.
The library is more than just books. We have a wide range of electronic resources to check to find full text journal articles, ebooks, streaming videos and more.
Digital Resources
Most research can be done without having to enter the library. We provide electronic access to thousands of journals, newspapers, magazine, streaming videos and more through our collection of library databases. There are dozens to chose from and they cover a wide range of subjects and formats.
The quickest way to explore our entire collection is by using the D’YouSearch discovery tool located near to top of the library homepage. D’YouSearch is simple to use - just enter some keywords and hit the search button. This tool searches across our collection of databases and can find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming video and many other formats.
Those with more specific needs should visit the A to Z Database directory. Browse our database collection by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search. The filters narrow your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.
Specialized Tools
The A to Z list also contains digital resources beyond finding articles and books. We have several specialized tools that can help with all types of things. Examples include a virtual anatomy lab, citation management software, video streaming service and several more.
Research Guides and Tutorials
We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials include tips to help you become a better researcher.
Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.
Additional research help can be found on our Research Guides page. There are a range of topics in the guides that might be helpful for your research. These include general lists of library resources for nursing to more specific instruction on nursing theorists. These guides contain a number of research issues such as copyright, APA citation style help and using AI for your research.
Services
We also provide services that can help you find and obtain what you need.
Individual research assistance is available to students via appointment. Research librarians will help you with your research questions and problems. We can teach you how to effectively use library databases, internet resources or AI to complete your research. Email us at library@dyc.edu with your questions or to schedule an appointment.
The Interlibrary Loan service can obtain materials not in our collection from libraries around the country. This service is free of charge. Don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!
Spaces
The library has individual study spaces throughout the building. It also has a several enclosed group study rooms on the fourth floor. The third floor is configured for some group study in open areas.
There is a large computer lab on the first floor containing a combination of Mac and Windows based computers. There are network connected printers on each floor.
You can borrow physical materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. Your D’Youville ID is all you need to check out books, DVDs, anatomy models and a variety of other resources. Most books can be checked out for six weeks. Don’t worry if you can’t bring the item back on time, we don’t charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned). You can also email us at library@dyc.edu and we will happily renew the material for you.
This post should help you get started with most library related research projects. Please email the us at library@dyc.edu with any additional questions. Good luck with your research!