The D’Youville Archives contain the institutional records and historical materials of D’Youville, and document the history and evolution of the institution from 1908 to the present. Materials in the collection include administrative records, publications, audio-visual materials, photographs, artifacts, and rare books.
The D’Youville Archives was established on February 1, 1967 by Sister St. Mary Jones at the request of College President Sister Francis Xavier Lynch.
Questions about the archives collection can be directed to library@dyc.edu.
The largest collection in the archives, the records document the history and evolution of D’Youville from its beginnings in 1908 to the present. Materials are arranged by record groups, which include Administration, Academic programs, Departments and Offices, Evaluation, Facilities, Faculty, Institutional Advancement, Affiliated Organizations and Projects, Students, Memorabilia, and Media.
An extensive collection of over 1,000 photographs covering D’Youville history.
D’Youville College was founded by the Grey Nuns in 1907. Although the official Archives of the Grey Nuns of the Sacred Heart are held in Yardley, Pennsylvania, the Archives does collect histories of the Grey Nuns, as well as biographies of St. Marguerite and Mother Bruyere, founder of the Grey Nuns of Ottawa. There are also several theses on the history of D’Youville as well as Sister Mary Sheila Driscoll’s pamphlet series on the history of the College.
Comprising over 250 volumes, highlights of the Rare Book collection include a first edition David Copperfield in original wrappers, Londina Illustrata, Les Oeuvres de Monsieur de Balzac, and The Life and Works of Jean Leon Gerome. The oldest book in the collection is an incomplete copy of The First Theological Orations of Gregory of Nazianzus from 1523.
The Archives maintains A to Z subject files of topics, events, and people related to D’Youville (the “vertical file”). Materials contained in each file vary, but can include images, correspondence, brochures, and clippings.