D'Youville Library Dispatch

D’Youville students have a wealth of scholarly information resources to choose from through the university library. This collection contains high quality academic resources to meet the needs of your coursework.  Using the library resources may not be intuitive at first. This guide will help you get started.

The library is more than just books. We have a wide range of electronic resources to check to find full text journal articles, ebooks, streaming videos and more.

Digital Resources

Most research can be done without having to enter the library. We provide electronic access to thousands of journals, newspapers, magazine, streaming videos and more through our collection of library databases. There are dozens to chose from and they cover a wide range of subjects and formats.

The quickest way to explore our entire collection is by using the D’YouSearch discovery tool located near to top of the library homepage. D’YouSearch is simple to use - just enter some keywords and hit the search button. This tool searches across our collection of databases and can find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming video and many other formats.

Those with more specific needs should visit the A to Z Database directory. Browse our database collection by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search. The filters narrow your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.

Specialized Tools

The A to Z list also contains digital resources beyond finding articles and books. We have several specialized tools that can help with all types of things. Examples include a virtual anatomy lab, citation management software, video streaming service and several more.

Research Guides and Tutorials

We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials include tips to help you become a better researcher.

Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.

Additional research help can be found on our Research Guides page. There are a range of topics in the guides that might be helpful for your research. These include general lists of library resources for nursing to more specific instruction on nursing theorists. These guides contain a number of research issues such as copyright, APA citation style help and using AI for your research.

Services

We also provide services that can help you find and obtain what you need.

Individual research assistance  is available to students via appointment. Research librarians will help you with your research questions and problems. We can teach you how to effectively use library databases, internet resources or AI to complete your research. Email us at library@dyc.edu with your questions or to schedule an appointment.

The Interlibrary Loan service can obtain materials not in our collection from libraries around the country. This service is free of charge. Don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!

Spaces

The library has individual study spaces throughout the building. It also has a several enclosed group study rooms on the fourth floor. The third floor is configured for some group study in open areas.

There is a large computer lab on the first floor containing a combination of Mac and Windows based computers. There are network connected printers on each floor.

You can borrow physical materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. Your D’Youville ID is all you need to check out books, DVDs, anatomy models and a variety of other resources. Most books can be checked out for six weeks. Don’t worry if you can’t bring the item back on time, we don’t charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned). You can also email us at library@dyc.edu and we will happily renew the material for you.

This post should help you get started with most library related research projects. Please email the us at library@dyc.edu with any additional questions. Good luck with your research!

Congratulations to our new graduates this spring. As you embark on the next chapter of your life, the library would like to let you know that we are here for you.

Although the library continues to serve you as an alumni of the university, there are some materials that are no longer available to you. Many of our online resources have licensing restrictions from publishers that only permit current student and faculty access. These include ebook, streaming video and full text journal databases.

This guide specifies which resources from D'Youville you can continue to use as well as where you can find free replacements to help you with your research, organization and recreational needs.
 

Library Memberships

Signing up for a card at a library is a good place to start. Many of the resources that you might want can be found in a library. Below are three library options to get you started.

The D'Youville Library is still an option for those that need a place to study or are looking to check out a good book to read. You will just need to sign up for a free card from the D'Youville Alumni office. The card does offer several perks in addition to library use, so this is a smart choice.

A great option for New York State residents is the New York City Public Library System. The NYC Public Library membership is free to state residents and opens a whole new world of access to you. The NYPL is the largest public library system in the nation. People from around the world use the extensive resources at the NYPL for research and recreation. Sign up for a free account and card to access their resources.

Don’t forget about the Buffalo and Erie County Library. While their collection isn’t as large, they have many of the same resources as the New York Public Library. This is a great option if you are staying local and need to do some research or find something to read. They have an Interlibrary Loan service allowing you to order books, dvds and other materials not found in their collections. Sign up for a library card to start using their services.

The public library examples above work best for those that live in New York, but their are comparable public library choices throughout the United States.

Libraries are the best option when you are looking for books to read. Most public libraries also provide Interlibrary Loan services, so they can get books that are not within their collections.

Other types of material may be found in a variety of places. Below are some good places to find free resources such as e-books, full text articles and streaming video.

E-books and Audiobooks

The Libby app is the most popular app to use for checking out e-books from libraries. All three of the libraries mentioned above use Libby. The app can be used to browse, select, and read e-books or audiobooks.

The Libby app is freely available for Apple, Android and can be used on most web browsers.

SimplyE is an app created by the New York Public Library for accessing e-books in their collection. It also connects to a large assortment of public domain and Creative Commons books. It is a free app and can be used on both Apple and Android devices.

Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Finding full text articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers is a little more work. Many publications allow you to view a limited number of articles for free on their websites though.

If viewing an article on a publications web site is not available, you can check with your public library to see if they have an online subscription to the publication. The New York Public Library has over 100 of the top magazines and newspapers available for reading through the Flipster.

You might be more interested in research than in reading, you can try out some of the many journal article databases available. Visit the Research and Resources page from the Buffalo Public Library to view their large assortment of databases. The New York Public Library also boasts an impressive list of research databases (https://www.nypl.org/research/collections/articles-databases).

There are also many free, scholarly based research databases available on the Internet.

One of the most popular is Google Scholar. It is as easy to use as standard Google, but it only covers scholarly publications. Google Scholar will link out to full text when available.

Many "open access (OA)" research databases can be found on the Internet. Many of these databases specialize on particular topics such as medicine, business, agriculture, etc... Visit the "Open Access Database"  page on our website to browse and view some of these free resources.

You might also try out newer AI powered research tools. We have listed several tools that might be helpful for this purpose on our AI for Library Research page.

Video

Hoopla  has streaming video including popular movies. You can watch online or download the app to watch on your Apple or Android devices. Movies are free when you create an account with your library card. Each library has its own collection of titles so if you have accounts with multiple systems you can sign in for different content.

Fans of independent cinema will enjoy Projectr from the New York Public Library. This streaming platform includes award winning features, documentaries and artistic works from around the globe.

Citation Management

Zotero is free sofrware that helps you collect, organize and cite your research. It can be downloaded on computers using any of the major operating systems (Windows, Mac, Linux). It includes thousands of citation styles including MLA, APA, AMA and many, many more. You can also create folders that allow you to share your research with a team. You can also sync the data on each of your devices so you always have access to your research.

This list is just a starting point for finding quality content for free. As a new graduate we hope this information can help you to save money, stay informed and stay engaged.

Our new visual guide is the simple way to find out if the library has the model you need.

Anatomical models are some of the most popular resources in the library. We have just published a comprehensive online guide to our models making them easier to find. There are 30 plus models for loan at the second floor Service Desk. Each model listed includes a picture with a link to determine whether a model is currently available for checkout.

Use the menu on the left hand side of the guide to select one of four categories: bones, muscles, organs or systems. Click on the name of a model to check availability. This will save you the hassle of visiting the library for material that is not here.

Research indicates that students using physical models scored much higher on tests identifying anatomical structures than those using textbooks and computer models. Not only did physical models yield better test results, they also led to better spatial knowledge acquisition and retention.

Learn more and get better grades in anatomy using the physical models available in the library. Click on the button below to open our easy to use guide to quickly find out if we have what you need. Bookmark and continue to visit the guide during the semester as the collection continues to grow.

See Models

Trying to find high-quality and relevant educational content to add to your online courses can be a time consuming and frustrating process. The library can help. We have a large collection of resources that can easily be integrated into your LMS courses.

The library collection won't replace using the Internet, but there are several advantages to supplementing your course with library resources. One of the main advantages of using library resources is it provides your students with easy access to current and authoritative information sources. Link to e-books, journals, steaming videos and more from within your course modules, assignments, discussions and quizzes.

We have created a short guide to some of the most useful library resources for faculty seeking educational content. It includes links to databases containing streaming video, ebooks, textbooks and more. Many of these tools also allow you to create playlists, embed content, annotate articles or generate citations.

Please email library@dyc.edu if you need assistance or guidance on using library resources in your classes. We are happy to help you find, select and link to the best resources for your courses.

Using our content in the LMS is an excellent way to add high-quality and relevant academic sources to your courses!

Enjoy this winter break with a book.

Use Libby to access our  large collection of digital books.  Download and read from anywhere!

Getting started is simple.

View our short Overdrive guide for additional instructions or contact us at library@dyc.edu with any questions. The Libby app is available in the Apple store and in Google Play. You can try it out online at https://libbyapp.com.

Looking for some inexpensive entertainment for Halloween? Take a look at our Kanopy streaming video collection for some great options that you can watch from anywhere.

Below are five great terror tales to get you started!

Sleepaway Camp

After a terrible boating accident killed her family, shy Angela Baker is sent to Camp Arawak. Shortly after her arrival a series of bizarre and violent "accidents" begin to claim the lives of various campers.

Consecration

After her brother dies under mysterious circumstances, Grace travels to the Mount Saviour Convent in Scotland to find out what really happened. Once there, she uncovers murder, sacrilege, and a shocking truth about her own past.

The Monster

A divorced mother (Zoe Kazan) and her headstrong daughter must fight for survival when a terrifying monster attacks them after their car breaks down on a deserted country road.

Lavender

A taut psychological thriller that bends the line between memory and madness, past and present, like a splinter in the brain struggling to escape. Jane (Abbie Cornish) has always photographed old and abandoned farmhouses, it’s a hobby bordering on obsession that has bloomed into a successful career. Until one day she photographs a particular house…and everything changes...

Werewolves Within

After a proposed pipeline creates divisions within the small town of Beaverfield, and a snowstorm traps its residents together inside the local inn, newly arrived forest ranger Finn (Sam Richardson) and postal worker Cecily (Milana Vayntrub) must try to keep the peace and uncover the truth behind a mysterious creature that has begun terrorizing the community.

This streaming video collection is provided to for free by the D'Youville Library.

D'Youville students have access to a huge repository of information through the university library. This collection contains high quality academic resources to meet the needs of your coursework. It can be a little overwhelming to navigate at first though. This short guide highlights important library resources and services to help you through your early research projects.

We provide more than just books in the library. We have a wide variety of databases providing full text articles, streaming video, ebooks and more.

Services

We can help you find what you need. Research Librarians can help you find credible academic information for your projects. We can teach you how to effectively use the library databases or Internet to do your research. Contact us by email at library@dyc.edu for assistance.

You can borrow physical materials from our collection at the library service desk on the second floor. Use your school ID to check out books, DVDs, anatomy models and a variety of other resources. Most books can be checked out for six weeks. Don't worry if you can't bring the item back on time, we don't charge late fees (although there are fees for items that are not returned). You can also email us at library@dyc.edu and we will happily renew the material for you.

image: eye model for checkout

Does the library not have what you need? No problem! Our Interlibrary Loan service can request things from other libraries across North America. This service is free of charge – so don’t pay for articles or books without checking with us first!

Digital Resources

Explore our large collection of digital and physical resources using the D’YouSearch discovery tool. This simple to use, multidisciplinary search tool is the best starting place for your research. Whether you are looking for books in the building or full text articles from our vast electronic collection, D’YouSearch can help you find it fast.

image: D'YouSearch

Those with a specific database in mind will want to visit our A to Z directory. Browse databases by name or subject. Selecting a discipline specific database can help you target higher quality information more efficiently than Google or D’YouSearch. Many of these subject specific databases contain specialized filters to help focus your search The filters narrow down your search results in ways that can’t be replicated by traditional keyword searches.

Image: Some of the filter options available in CINAHL

Research Tutorials

We have created helpful tutorials for many of our most used resources. These tutorials include tips to help you become a better researcher.

Video tutorials can be found on our YouTube channel. We have created several videos that will get you started on your assignments with instructions such as finding peer reviewed articles or journal specific searching. We have created various playlists populated with publisher created instructions for many of our most used resources.

This blog also includes posts on database selection and search techniques. The articles not only cover how to search, but they help you understand where and why you might use a particular resource. Learn how to use our resources for specific classes, assignments, or find solutions to common research problems that students encounter. We also highlight books, ebooks, databases and other helpful or new resources here.

Conclusion

The information above should help you get started with most research problems. Feel free to email the library with any additional questions at library@dyc.edu. Good luck with your research!

Stress and anxiety are two of the most common problems reported by college students today. The effects of stress are profound and include reductions in motivation and inability to focus, which can lead to additional stress and anxiety. One simple way to help break the cycle is to regularly do relaxing activities. The library is here to provide that activity.

Studies have shown that reading a book can help reduce stress, improve memory and help you sleep. One study found that reading books was more relaxing than listening to music or going for a walk. Unfortunately many people don’t read because it can be time consuming and one of the major causes of stress for students is the lack of time.

We have a hack to make reading easier and efficient - have someone else read the book to you!

The D’Youville Library Overdrive collection contains hundreds of popular audiobooks for checkout. You can listen on your phone, computer or tablet from almost anywhere.

Audiobooks plus Libby make it easy to fit some reading into your schedule. Install the app on your phone and download audiobooks from Overdrive. Listen to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks while falling asleep, or Dreadful Places while walking to class in the morning, or maybe Like Water: A Cultural History of Bruce Lee while taking a lunch break. Every activity is now a little more relaxing - and no additional time is needed.

Download the Libby app now to get started and start feeling the sweet sensation of serenity.