LibGuides: About Us: Online Learning Services

About Online Learning Services

D'Youville has a full-time Online Learning Librarian to help online faculty and students navigate digital library services and resources. This enables the library to answer questions and assist faculty on how to best incorporate library research into their online courses. The Online Learning Librarian is here to facilitate the use of any library-related services and resources for online courses. We can provide library assistance to faculty and students through individual appointment using your preferred medium (web conference, chat room, IM, e-mail, phone or in-person). The Online Learning Librarian can be embedded into your online course through the Learning Management System and can conduct research chat sessions for online students. We can also help you design a research assignment for your online course framed around library resources. Additional library tutorials, activities, and instruction can be created for specific courses upon request

Research Tools

Open Educational Resources
Search our list of credible Open Educational Resources for textbooks, modules, course materials, streaming videos, journal articles, and full courses.
Instructional Videos
We have created instructional videos to help students research successfully using our library's tools and resources.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain material that you cannot find in our collection. Request journal articles or book chapters up to 60 pages to be obtained digitally. Must be able to pick-up print materials at D'Youville.

Teaching Resources

Customized Instructional Materials Request Form
We can create customized digital learning objects (such as instructional screencasts) that can be embedded into the Learning Management System. These instructional materials will allow students to learn research skills and how to use library resources. If you are interested in having the Online Learning Librarian create custom instructional content for your online course, follow this link to fill out the request form.

D'YouSearch This link opens in a new window
Search across the library collection with this easy to use library discovery database. Start your searching here and find everything from books, streaming video, newspaper articles, peer reviewed journal articles and more. Information in this database is multidisciplinary and comes from dozens of our most popular databases.
Refworks This link opens in a new window
Refworks citation management software allows you to collect and organize your research. You can easily gather information, organize, read and annotate, and cite your research. The tool also enables collaboration by allowing you to share folders with teams.

Streaming Videos
The library has some streaming video databases that allow you to easily find and select segments from thousands of academic and commercial titles. You can also create annotated playlists. Both options allow give you a simple url that can embed the video into your class via the LMS.
Streaming Video Search
Search our entire collection of over 100,000 streaming titles with this database.